Jul 12, 2024

Ramprasad Sapkota appointed as Vice Chairman of NTB

Ramprasad Sapkota appointed as Vice Chairman of NTB

KATHMANDU, April 16:Ram Prasad Sapkota has been elected as Vice President of the Nepal Tourism Board's Executive Committee.

The 368th meeting of the NTB executive committee, held on Monday, appointed  NTB member Sapkota as vice president.

On Sunday, the board formally welcomed Sapkota and the other newly appointed  executive committee members.

Rishi Ram Bhandari and Rajendra Bahadur Lama, together with Ram Prasad Sapkota, were appointed to the Nepal Tourism Board's three vacant member positions at a cabinet meeting on  March 28.

With the appointment of board members, the NTB posts that had been vacant since February 5 have been filled.

According to the Nepal Tourism Board Act of 2053, the secretary of the Ministry of Culture, Tourism, and Civil Aviation, as well as one member chosen by the board from among the nominated members, would serve as vice chairman.

According to the Act, the executive board committee consists of 11 members, including the NTB's executive chief as member secretary, as well as five government-nominated members with competence in tourism, natural, and cultural heritage. The group also includes a joint secretary from the Ministry of Finance, an official from the Immigration Office, and the Director General of Nepal's Civil Aviation Authority.