Jul 13, 2024



The South Asian Travel Awards (SATA) is proud to announce the selection of a distinguished panel of international jurors who will evaluate the nominees for the 2024 awards. This esteemed panel brings together a diverse array of expertise and experience from across the travel and tourism industry. Below are brief profiles of each jury member:

Jury Panel for SATA 2024

Abdulla Suood

With over 20 years of experience in Sales & Marketing, Mr. Suood has been a key voice in the travel and hospitality industry. He has served as President of the Maldives Association of Travel Agents & Tour Operators (MATATO) and is a co-founder of the SME & Entrepreneurs Federation of Maldives (SEFM).

Akhtaruzzaman Khan Kabir

Mr. Kabir has extensive experience in regional tourism development and policy-making. His contributions to the formulation of tourism policies have fostered growth and sustainability in the industry.

Dilshan Kudahetty

Mr. Kudahetty is a respected commercial leader with over 20 years of experience in the travel industry. He has extensive expertise in airline management, hotel and destination management, and regional business development in South Asia and Far Eastern markets.

Dr. Sachin Bansal

Dr. Bansal has exhibited strategic leadership in the Indian tourism sector, creating multiple flagships in culture and heritage. With two decades of experience, he has utilized design thinking to harness new markets and co-create with host communities.

Hinna Khalid

Ms. Khalid is a professional consultant, researcher, lecturer, and writer with significant contributions in educating and empowering people. Her expertise lies in social research methods and primary healthcare management.

Ishan Koul

Mr. Koul brings extensive experience in market analysis and tourism development to the SATA jury. His strategic insights have made him a respected figure in the travel and hospitality industry.

Mariyam Noordeen

Ms. Noordeen is the founder and president of the Chefs Guild of Maldives. With over 25 years of experience in tourism and hospitality, she has trained and mentored over 4,000 students as the former Dean of the Faculty of Hospitality and Tourism Studies at Maldives National University.

Sangeeta Rana

Ms. Rana is the Executive Director of the Hotel and Restaurant Association of Bhutan. She is passionate about developing the tourism industry and works closely with stakeholders worldwide. She brings a unique perspective from Bhutan, which believes in “Gross National Happiness.”

Tek Bahadur Mahat

Mr. Mahat is a trailblazer in the travel and hospitality industry, known for his innovative approach and commitment to excellence. His insights are highly valued by the jury.

Abdul Latheef

Co-Founder and President of the SME & Entrepreneurs Federation, Mr. Latheef has extensive experience in the tourism industry. He has served on policy boards and is recognized for his contributions to sustainable tourism and hotel operations.

The South Asian Travel Awards are dedicated to recognizing and rewarding excellence in the travel and hospitality sector across the South Asian region. With the expertise and diverse backgrounds of our jury panel, we are confident in our ability to uphold the highest standards in evaluating the nominees for the 2024 awards.

The South Asian Travel Awards (SATA) was established to recognize and reward excellence in the travel, tourism, and hospitality industries across South Asia. SATA aims to promote and improve the service standards within the region, providing a platform for industry professionals to celebrate and acknowledge the best in their fields.