Government restricts travelers from 9 countries including South Africa and Hong Kong

2nd Dec, 2021 | Tourism Mail Crew

KATHMANDU, Dec 02: The government has decided to restrict citizens from nine countries, including South Africa and Hong Kong, from entering Nepal.

The cabinet meeting on Thursday restricted travelers from South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Iswatini, Mozambique, Malawi and Hong Kong from entering and those visiting these countries within three weeks.

According to a minister, it has been decided not to allow them to enter Nepal from 12 noon on Friday. At present, passengers on their way to Nepal from those countries will have to stay in the mandatory quarantine.

As new variants of corona virus have been found in those countries, entry into Nepal has been tightened. A minister said that it has been decided not to issue on-arrival visas to passengers coming from countries at risk of infection.