Jul 13, 2024

45th AGM of PATA Nepal elects a new executive committee led by Khemraj Lakai

45th AGM of PATA Nepal elects a new executive committee led by Khemraj Lakai

KATHMANDU, June 08:Khemraj Lakai has been unanimously elected as the president of the newly formed working committee of the Pacific Asia Travel Association (PATA)-Nepal Chapter.

The chapter's 45th annual general meeting, held on Thursday, overwhelmingly elected a new working committee chaired by Lakai, CEO of Global Academy of Tourism and Hospitality Education (GATE).

The recently elected president, Lakai, stated that he has taken on new duties and would actively engage in promotional work in collaboration with tourism-related groups, elevating the organization's stature.

Lakai called all tourism-related organizations and stakeholders to collaborate together to fulfill the common goal of promoting national development and prosperity through tourism.

Similarly, the AGM elected Narendra Deo Bhatta (Managing Director of Heritage Tours & Travels) as the general secretary and Reetal Rana (Managing Director of  Mid Valley International College) as treasurer. 

Other executive members elected include Ms. Lakhpa Phuti Sherpa (Founder of Luxury DMC Travel), Rupesh Joshi (Sales and Marketing Director of Buddha Air), Binod Adhikari (Director of Arya Village Travels), Sunil Bahadur Bhattarai (Executive Director of BGB Cafe), Himmat Puri (Director of Destinago Tours and Travel), Sarita Lama (Managing Director of The Wall Trekking), and Tenzing Pang Lama (Director of Hotel Lhasa International (Dusit Princess Kathmandu).

Additionally, Dr. Smriti Kala Pant (BHM/BHTM Head - Little Angels College of Management), Prakash Chandra Lohani (Chairman of Alpine Rescue Service), Suman Ghimire (Executive Director of Jungle Safari Lodge), and Emu Regmi (Director of Basera Boutique Hotel) have been selected as officers and members by proxy.

In a special occasion, the PATA Nepal chapter honored numerous individuals for their contributions to the tourism and hospitality industries. Ms. Ambica Shrestha, President of Dwarika's Hotels & Resorts, and Mr. Shyam Bahadur Pandey, Founder of Hotel Shangrila, received the "PATA Lifetime Achievement Award 2024."

Mr. Lakpa Sonam Sherpa, President of Yeti Group, was honored with the "PATA Tourism Trailblazer Award 2024." 

Mr. Bharat Basnet (Founder of Explore Nepal) received the "PATA Personality of the Year 2024" award. 

Mr. Narendra Deo Bhatta was also honored with the "PATA Special Contribution Award 2024" for his outstanding assistance and legal guidance.

Similarly, Premier Hotel School in Itahari received the PATA Best Student Chapter of the Year 2023 award.

Former President Bibhuti Chand Thakur congratulated all of the members, organizations, and stakeholders for their ongoing support and collaboration.