Pandey and Sharma compete for NATTA Presidency

9th Jan, 2018 | Tourism Mail Crew

KATHMANDU, Jan 09: With the upcoming election of the Nepal Association of Tour and Travel Agents (NATTA) on the way, the competition is set to put the First Vice-President CN Pandey and Second Vice-President Dipendra Sharma Ghimire panels against each other.

As the election is set to take place on 12th January, the Bam Alliance side and the Nepalese Congress side came together under the leadership of Pandey to form his panel and declare candidacy under it, while at the same time the Sharma leadership formed his own panel and declared candidacy under it.

The panel under Dipendra Kumar Sharma was made by First Vice-President, Chitra Bahadur Gurung; Second Vice-President, Sangeeta Jirel; General Secretary, Vinay Basnet; Secretary, Sabita K.C. Bhattarai; Treasurer, Ram Shrestha; Co-Treasurer, Yuvraj Subedi along with members, Amrit Kumar Dhakal; Ravi Thapa; Raghu Pariyar; Santosh Chhetri; DP Aryal (Hari); Benju Shrestha (Chief); Geeta Dhakal and Binod Karki.

The First Vice-President candidate from the Pandey panel is Achyut Guragain, Second Vice-President candidate is Sunil Sharma, General Secretary is Ramesh Thapa, Secretary is Haribhakta Shrestha, while the candidates for Treasurer and Joint Treasurer are Raj Kumar Thapa and Surendra Bhattarai respectively. The executive member candidates are Sudarshan Nepal, Kumar Mani Thapaliya, Furi Geljen Sherpa, Devaki Gurung, Ramesh Paudel, Romesh Shrestha, Raju Dhakal, and Inu Thapa.

After an agreement between the long-reigning groups in the tourism sector, the Bam Alliance and the Democratic Alliance, it was predicted that the next NATTA leadership would be formed by a unanimous agreement. However, this has not been the case.