TAAN and NTB hold meeting to discuss TIMS, frozen funds

8th Mar, 2018 | Tourism Mail Crew

KATHMANDU, Mar 08: The Trekking Agencies’ Association of Nepal (TAAN) and Nepal Tourism Board (NTB) held a meeting at the TAAN Secretariat, Maligaun on March 6 to discuss the ongoing issues with the Trekkers’ Information Management System (TIMS).

TAAN President Nava Raj Dahal spoke about the importance of TIMS for discouraging illegal trekking operations which have been a major concern of the organization. The issues raised on TIMS, not only being issue of TAAN or NTB but has become national issue. He said that the MoU signed between TAAN and NTB includes the division of funds as 30% for TAAN, 30% for NTB, 30% as a joint- fund and remaining 10% for worker’s welfare. As NTB has not released the funds, it has been causing problems with TAAN for conducting different projects. Similarly, TIMS budget cannot be utilized for development activities.

President Dahal requested NTB Board Members to look after the missing documents and take an appropriate action to release the budget.

NTB Board Member and TAAN Former President Deepak Mahat said that TAAN and NTB must go through a unified agenda for Nepalese tourism. He stated that NTB also wants the debate of TIMS to be resolved soon and assured to ascertain the internal operation of the board.

TIMS Coordinator, Rajan Prasad Kapri said that NTB must prioritize to release the fund for rescue and death victims and also solicited to discern the documents required. Meanwhile, TAAN Executive Members highlighted upon the solution to release the frozen budget. “If a solution is not made, we must go through other options,” they added.

The meeting was hosted by General Secretary Ang Pemba Sherpa saying the TIMS budget could not be exercised according to the MoU. Hence, requested NTB Board Member to take proper actions and implore for the positive response at the earliest.

Along with TAAN President Dahal, Senior Vice President Khub Bahadur Subedi, 1st Vice-President Jeeban Thapa Magar, 2nd Vice-President Nil Hari Bastola, General Secretary Ang Pemba Sherpa, Treasurer Ram Krishna Timalsina, Executive Members Ritu Gyamdan, Jeevan Lama, Rabindra Adhikari, Gopal Shrestha, Baburam Gurung, Janga Bahadur Lama, Rajan Prashad Kapri, Ram Bahadur Khadka, P.K. Sherpa, Surya Bahadur Bhetwal, CEO Tek Bahadur Mahat and NTB Board Members Deepak Mahat, Krishna Bahadur Mahara and Awadhesh Kumar Das were present at the meeting.