TAAN organizing 3rd TAAN International Langtang Marathon

28th Mar, 2018 | Tourism Mail Crew

KATHMANDU, Mar 28: The Trekking Agencies’ Association of Nepal (TAAN) is conducting the 3rd TAAN International Langtang Marathon on April 25, 2018. The marathon is being conducted with an aim to promote Nepal as an international destination for adventure and sports tourism. The marathon was started in 2016, to disseminate the message that the Langtang region is safe to visit after the earthquake of 2015.

The event will also draw international attention to the conservation of Himalayan biodiversity and protection of rare species like Red Panda.

The marathon will start from Kyanjin Gompa and end in Syabrubensi, covering a distance of 46km. The route will move through Kyanjin Gomba, Godha Tabela, Lama Hotel, Rimche, Sherpagaon, Khanjim and finally Syabrubensi. Kyanjin Gompa is a Buddhist monastery located at an altitude of 3870 meter which allows breathtaking views of the Langtang mountain ranges.

The marathon will take place over 5 days. The first day, on April 22, includes a drive to Syabrubensi and hike to Khanjim. Day 2 will include a trek to Thagsyap/Langtang; Day 3 a trek to Kyanjin Gompa, and a mockup race, while the marathon event will take place on Day 4.


Marathon Itinerary:

Day 1

(April 22)

  Drive to Syabrubensi and Hike to Khanjim/Sherpagaun

Day 2

(April 23)

  Trek to Thangsyap/Langtang

Day 3

(April 24)

  Trek to Kyanjin Gompa, Mockup race

Day 4

(April 25)

  Race start from Kyanjin Gompa to Syabrubensi 

 Closing Ceremony: 1:00 PM at Syabrubesi

Day 5

(April 26)

  Drive back to Kathmandu


The registration fee for Nepali citizens is Rs. 2,500 per person and US $75 per person for foreigners. The fee covers the cost of marathon t-shirt, insurance for participants, first-aid, and lunch after the closing ceremony. Participants are responsible for their own accommodation, transportation to and from Kathmandu, National Park entry fees, and fooding before the event itself.


Winners of the Langtang Marathon in both men and women category will be awarded with Rs. 50,000, while the second and third prizes will include a cash prize of Rs. 30,000 and Rs. 20,000 respectively.


The deadline for registration to the event is on April 15, 2018.