TAAN recommends DoT to forego mountain royalty on 13 Everest summiteers

16th Mar, 2018 | Tourism Mail Crew

KATHMANDU, Mar 16: Trekking Agencies’ Association of Nepal (TAAN) visited  the Senior Division Engineering (S.D.E) of the Department of Tourism, Mr. Kosh Nath Adhikari, to recommend royalty fee and garbage fee free for a month to the 13 young everest expedition team.

TAAN President Mr. Nava Raj Dahal handed over the proposal to S.D.E Mr. Kosh Nath Adhikari stating that TAAN will be supporting for the step taken by young Everest expedition team as an organization to facilitate trekking and mountaineering. TAAN submitted the proposal for 13 Everest summiteers who belong from different team having their own slogan and agenda to promote Nepalese tourism.

The summiteers include the First Female Sherpa Journalist of Nepal Mt. Everest expedition – 2018, which hopes to contribute to women empowerment while promoting Nepal's tourism nationally and internationally. Two more women are preparing for the Everest expedition with the slogan “Women's Confidence”. Another woman is attempting Everest summit this year under First Barista Expedition – 2018, with her aim being to serve hand-dip Coffee on top of the world. Likewise, with the slogan “Buddha was born in Nepal”, two young women are ready for the expedition. Smiling Women Nepal Everest Expedition – 2018, is going for expedition to raise awareness for cervical cancer in Nepal. Likewise, five team members from Female Journalist Everest Expedition, have their objective as Unified Voice for Equality and finally the youngest man from Magar Community to climb Mt. Everest - 2018 with the slogan “Save Himalayas for safe future”.

S.D.E. Mr. Adhikari and Under Secretary Mr. Ram Prashad Sapkota were positive towards the proposal given by TAAN for supporting the team of Everest Expedition- 2018. They said that they will go through internal discussions at the earliest.

Along with President Dahal, General Secretary Ang Pemba Sherpa, Media Coordinator Gopal Shrestha, C.E.O Tek Bahadur Mahat, Media officer Subina Manandhar, Photographer Pemba Sherpa and team members from different team of Everest Expedition- 2018, namely Doma Sherpa, Yangi Sherpa, Lakpa Yangi Sherpa, Yangdi Sherpa, Chhoke Sherpa, Shramila Tamang and Narbin Magar were present at the meeting.