Ten-point Dhampus Declaration issued

17th Oct, 2016 | Tourism Mail Crew

POKHARA: A 10-point Dhampus Declaration was issued at Dhampus of Kaski district on Friday with a view to promote the Annapurna Circuit trek route.


The Non-Resident Nepali Association (NRNA) together with Century Tourist Entrepreneurs Committee (CTEC) have issued the declaration pledging to operate the trekking trails ranging from Dhampus, Chomrong to base camp in Machhapurchre in a new modus operandi.

Kiran Gurung, former Minister for Forest and Soil Conservation and CPN-UML leader, Rabindra Adhikari, Chairperson of the Development Committee under the Legislature-Parliament, Sita Giri, NRNA senior Vice-President Bhuwan Bhatta and Dal Bahadur Gurung, Chairperson of the CTEC among others signed the Declaration.

Both organizations will be effortful towards the conservation of the bio-diversity in the Annapurna Circuit besides re-branding the trekking trails, according to Rabindra Adhikari, one of the signatories to the Declaration.

Similarly, the Declaration states that more and more foreign tourists will be attracted to the region with an aim to promote rural tourism in the Circuit area.

Likewise, for the promotion of local produces, an international market will also be promoted with support of coordination between NRNA - Japan and Dhampus, according to the Declaration.

Construction of a botanical garden and a geological garden will be expedited in the Annapurna Circuit in accordance with the Declaration.

A new campaign 'Atithi Devo Bhava' (Guest is equivalent to God) will be launched, according to which, each person who is associated with the international chapters of the NRNA will persuade at least three foreign tourists to visit Nepal.

NRNA senior Vice-President, Bhatta, expressed his confidence that the newly issued Declaration would be a milestone in promoting the trekking route in the Annapurna Circuit.