The government selects model tourist destinations in all 7 states

29th Aug, 2018 | Tourism Mail Crew

KATHMANDU, Aug 29: The government has selected new tourist destinations in all 7 states with the aim of expanding upon tourist activities that was focused on certain parts of the country. The Ministry of Culture, Tourism, and Civil Aviation has prepared a master plan to identify model tourist destinations in all states to develop the tourism sector of the country.

According to a recent progress by the Tourism Ministry, Sandakpur, Ilam in State 1, Dhanushadham, Dhanusha in State 2, Kulekhani, Makwanpur in State 3, Panchase, Kaski in State 4, Niglihawa, Kapilvastu in State 5, Rara, Mugu in State 6, and Bhatgaun, Kanchanpur in State 7 will be developed into tourist destinations. The government has already started processes to implement the plan within the current economic year's budget and programs, informed the Chief Joint-Secretary of the Planning Department of the ministry, Nita Pokharel. She informed that the locations of the model tourist destinations have been selected and submitted to the Tourism Department for implementation.

Managing Director of the Tourism Department, Dandu Raj Ghimire, said that the necessary processes for developing model tourist destinations have been started. "The master plan for tourist destination in all seven states has been developed. We will now start the tender process. We will do our homework on budget necessities for each destination and send the calculations to the ministry," he said. Rs. 50 million has been allocated for the development of model destination until now. More will be allocated as the work progresses.