Tourism Department lists 14 mountains above 8000 m

10th Feb, 2018 | Tourism Mail Crew

KATHMANDU, Feb 09: The number of mountains above 8000 meters in Nepal has officially gone up to 14. Although the number was said to be 8 in the past, the Tourism Department has added 6 mountains to the list which took the number of high mountains in Nepal to 14.

The mountains above 8000 meters which have been added to the list are Lhotsesar (8404 m) of Solukhumbu, Yalung Kang (8404 m) of Taplejung, Kanchunjunga South (8476 m), Kanchunjunga Central (8473 m), Lhotse Middle (8410 m), and Yalung Kang West (8077 m). The mountains that were in the list previously are Sagarmatha (8488 m), Kanchunjunga (8586 m), Lhotse (8516 m), Makalu (8463 m), Chyo Yu (8201 m), Dhaulagiri I (8167 m), Manaslu (8156 m), and Annapurna I (8091 m).

The Tourism Department has listed the names of the mountains alongside their longitude and latitude, height, and the locations, said department spokesperson Laxman Sharma. Of the 14 mountains opened for climbing, all expect Yalung Kang West have been summited, said Sharma. The number of mountains above 8000 meters in the world has now reached 20. The mountains that lie outside Nepal include Ketu (8611 m) of Pakistan, Nanga Parbat (8126 m), Gaserbrum I (8068 m), Broad Peak (8047 m), Gaserbrum II (8035 m), and Sisapang (8027 m) of China.